City Council

City Council


The Marion City Council is the City's legislative body, with the power to enact and enforce all ordinances and resolutions. Two of the four Council members are elected every two years by the city at large.

The four members of Council, along with the Mayor, take action by ordinance, resolution or motion. They adopt and may alter the annual budget and confirm the Mayor's appointments. The Council is responsible for the appropriation and issuance of bonds, the awarding of contracts and the approval of City expenditures. Council may lease or dispose of the City's real estate and may levy assessments against property. City Council Meetings are held every other Monday at 4:30 p.m. in the City Council Meeting Room at 203 N. Third Street. City Council Meetings are open to the public.

Council members attend City Council meetings and come to City Hall as required. If you would like to make an appointmen to meet with them, please call the City Office at (620) 382-3703 to set up an appointment.

Councilman Costello and newly elected Councilman Collett were elected in November 2021 and will take office in January 2022. The Marion City Council positions held by Councilwoman Herbel, Councilman Kline and Mayor Mayfield will come up for election in November 2023. If you are interested in serving Marion in an elected office, please see our "Running for Elected Office" page.

Read more about the City Council Members here: Meet the City Council

Staff Contacts

Council Members

Name Title
Gerald "Jerry" Kline Councilman
Kevin Burkholder Councilman
Ruth Herbel Councilwoman
Zach Collett Councilman
David Mayfield Mayor